The Power of Running: Jon Ward.

This blog is dedicated to sharing stories, experiences, information, advice and strives to inspire all who loves to run.

Today we meet Jon Ward who reveals his reasons for running, what inspires him to push his limits the gear that he is currently using and we take a look at his life as a runner.

When did you start running?

Jon: I first start running properly when I started secondary school. During the winter months, we did cross country as part of our PT programme. My main sport at the time was football, however, when it came to sports I always strived to be the best.

I remember getting selected for the school cross-country team in my first year, I just made the team. I went to the school cross-country championship; I did ok but I was last out of my team.

But throughout my secondary school years, I worked hard when it came to cross-country training. Where the rest of my peers saw it as an easy PT session, I’d pushed my boundaries. By year 9 I was the best runner in the school, top for cross-country, 800m and 1500m champion. Then in 2000, I was selected to represent Herefordshire and Worcestershire at the English school’s cross-country championship Parliament hill London. It was an amazing experience. After leaving secondary school, that was nearly my running career over. I stopped running and focus on football

How long have you been running?

Jon: I started running regularly again in 2014.

What inspired you to start running?

Jon: I started running for the physical and mental challenge. After a low point in May 2016, I needed to do something that would challenge me physically and mentally.  Back in 2015 I set myself the challenge of one day getting into the 100-marathon club, I had no timescale but it was a goal I was going to achieve at some point. However, in May 2016 I decided to set myself the challenge of getting into the 100-marathon club to coincide with the RAF centenary (1st April 2018). At this point, I had only run 10 marathons, so I had 90 marathons to run in the space of 23 months whilst actively serving in the RAF.

This was exactly what I needed for both my physical self-esteem and mental welfare.

Who inspires you within the running community?

Jon: The people that inspire:

 1st is a guy called Steve Edwards. When I first embarked on my RAF100 challenge, Steve got in touch with me through twitter. He told me about himself and asked if I would be interested in reading his book. Steve has had numerous Guinness book records. He is currently embarking on being the first person to run 1000 official marathons with an average time of sub 3:30. After reading his book, it inspired me and gave me the belief that I could complete my RAF100 challenge in the timescale I had set myself. I’ve since met Steve some numerous times and regularly get encouraging feedback from him.

2nd is Adam Holland – I first met Adam at the Great Barrow challenge in 2016. All I can say about this guy is, I’m sure he is from another planet! He is ridiculous, he holds the record for the fastest consecutive 10 in 10 marathons with an average time of 2:49. His PB marathon is 2:24. What I love about him is, that he is so down to earth and is not big headed about how good he is. He’s always trying to encourage others to start running. Despite how good he is, he is not a full-time athlete and does not get any funding from brands.

Lastly, Sean Conway, absolute legend! I’ve watched his documentary and read his book on running Britain. All I can say is, for any avid runner or adventurer with big dreams,  his book is a must-read.

Are you a member of a team, group or club? If so, who?

Jon: As I’m in the military, I represent RAF Lossiemouth at cross-country in the Scottish Tri-service cross-country league. Outside of work, I run for the Moray road runners and I am also a member of the the100-marathon club.

What are your proudest running experiences?

Jon: Three experiences I’m the proudest of, are: completing my challenge to join the 100-marathon club to coincide with the RAF centenary, whilst rising over £5000 for charity.

Most recently completing the Ultra Great Britain race across Scotland, 216 miles from West to East coast using the Southern Upland way, over 29000ft of elevation in under 100 hours.

Finally, running 11 ultras (32 miles) in 11 days with an average time of 4:48 per ultra.

What are some of your PB’s?

Jon: 5K – 17:59

10k – 37:29

10 Mile – 1:01:10

Half marathon: 1:25:03

Marathon: 2:58:42

What is your favourite running experience? Road running, track running, trail running, ultra-running, cross-country running, races, recreation or any other.

Jon: For me, it must be ultra-marathon running, I love the challenge it provides and how mentally it pushes the boundaries and usually you get epic scenery too.

What future goals do you have? (Anybig races, personal records, etc.)

Jon: I am currently looking at entering JOGLE 2019 which is running from John O Groats to Lands’ End over 17 days averaging over 50 miles a day.

What inspires you to run today if different from what inspired you to take up running in the beginning?

Jon: I just like to keep testing my boundaries, how far I can push my body. When I achieve something, then I’m always like, what’s next? What’s the next challenge I can do that is going to push me to develop me even further?

What is your running philosophy?

Jon: I don’t have a philosophy; however, I live by this quote from Greg Plitt

“You must believe in yourself enough to be the person now that you want others to remember you for later”

I have even got it tattooed on the right side of my torso.

What nutrition gets you through your runs? (Long runs/races, short runs/races, pre and post running or workouts and what is your greatest vice? We all have one, right?

Jon: Diet

So, for me, my diet is healthy throughout the week. Meals are mainly high protein and lots of veggies. I don’t have a lot of carbs apart from the night before the race and post-race.

Usually, before a marathon that I’m looking to push for a sub3 in, I have a McDonalds the night before and post-race (I know it’s not what scientists would advise) but for me, it’s what my body craves, it is high in protein and salt.

The morning of the race for breakfast I usually have in protein bar and drink at least 500ml of water, you should have got enough calories in the night before so I big breakfast is not required. Post-race, straightaway I have a can of Iron Bru and a protein shake.

During a race, it will vary what I have, depending on the distance I am doing. 5k up to a marathon I will just replenish on water, occasionally some isotonic drink and jelly babies. Ultras I’ll be just constantly snacking on chocolate, chorizo, nuts or pork pies.

Workout

I don’t usually do much-running training; my training is achieved through the consistency of the events I do. Monday to Friday I’ll be in the gym doing weights, then weekends I’ll be running. I think strength training has been key to injury prevention and enabled me to do what I do.

What gear are you using at this moment?

Jon: My current footwear is Altra running for all terrains of running. Altra is my favourite running brand of footwear. The footwear is foot-shaped, which allows my toes freedom of movement and not to be crammed into the shoe. They are also super light and provide adequate support.

Road – Altra Escalante

Road/Trail – Altra Superior 3.0

Trail – Altra Lone peak 4.0

My running watch is the Garmin Fenix 5 Sapphire

My race vest varies between my 100-marathon club, Moray road runners and RAF Benevolent Fund vest depending on what race I am doing.

For the lower half, I use 1000-mile skin socks which are excellent for preventing blisters and Hilly or CEP compression calf sleeves.

What is your favourite peace of kit and why?

Jon: Garmin Fenix 5, I couldn’t live without it now. I love it because it does everything. It links to my phone so I get updated every time I get a message etc. Linked with Strava I get a detailed analysis of my workouts. Then I can also upload race routes reducing the use of having to use a map.

Do you have any recommendations and why?

Jon: I don’t have any recommendations as we are all different, what might work for me might not work for someone else. However, one piece of advice is ensuring you get the right running trainers for you. Don’t just go to sports Direct and buy a pair because you like the brand or they look good. Go to a proper running shop and get your running gait analysed etc.

What advice would you give yourself knowing what you know now if you could go back in time to when you just started running?

Jon: Belief in myself. Don’t be afraid to push the boundaries. There is nothing wrong with failing, failing is part of the recipe of success. You’re only failing if you give up. It’s better to try than not to try.

And finally Jon, what would you like to be remembered for when it comes to your running?

Jon: I want to be remembered as a running beast, someone who has achieved great things whilst not being your typical physique of a long-distance runner,

There you have it, folks, my wish is that you may find inspiration and valuable information that might help you achieve the greatness within you! Thank you, Jon Ward, for sharing this wonderful information with us.

If you’d like to share your story please get in touch by dropping me an email at therunnersdailyblog@gmail.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.